The Lao Government established the Lao National Unexploded Ordnance Programme (UXO Lao) with the support of UNDP, UNICEF, and other stakeholders through Prime Minister’s Decree Number 49, dated 13 February 1996, working under the Ministry ot Labour and Social welfare. Until beginning of 2013, UXO LAO  was transferred from Ministry ot Labour and Social Welfare to the National Committee for Rural Development and Poverty Eradication



UXO Lao maintains its National Office in Vientiane. It operates in nine of the most UXO impacted provinces in the country (Huaphanh, Luangprabang, Xiengkhuang, Khammuane, Savannakhet, Saravane, Champasak, Sekong, and Attapue.) In every province, the provincial office works closely with their respective Provincial Office for Rural Development and Poverty Eradication coordinates with other departments such as health, education, agriculture, and forestry for work planning purposes.



Reduce the number of casualties caused by unexploded ordnance, and increase the amount of land available for food production and other social-economic development activities.